Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 10th, 2009

I was guessing I wasn’t going to have a romantic Mother’s Day…and I didn’t. But I had a good one.

Church went as usual, then I spent all afternoon intensively editing a story a friend wrote. It’s a very good story,  having a religious historical theme, and set in New Mexico Territory shortly after the American Civil War. The main players are angels…good and bad.

Still, it did not make for a relaxing Mother’s Day…I had to give my Bible a work-out, as well as my brain, and my fingers too, as my friend and I have been hurling e-mails at each other regarding this story, for several days now. Still, I am satisfied, over all – I think it’s shaping up very nicely.

I’m not so sure about my “Mother’s Day Trip” so far. When the clerk at the grocery store asked me if I was doing anything special this week, I told her Will and I would be going with a church group to fix up a camp – a sort of handyman missions trip, if you will. Will even gave me an early Mother’s Day gift which fits right in – a new electric drill. 🙂 I needed it, and must say, it’s come at a convenient time.

Wish me luck finding something I’m happy doing there. You see, last time I got involved in one of these types of trips, I spent two days shoveling sand for cement, and running a jack hammer. But my back won’t handle that now.

The choices this time seem to be: building bunk beds, painting, or – if the weather’s suitable – putting up a steel building. The wind’s supposed to blow 50 miles an hour, though, so I’m guessing we’ll not be doing much on the building.

I told you a few days ago that Will is quite a “Tim the Tool Man Taylor” type of romantic…even if he’s never given me a bouquet of spark plugs. 😀

Be sure to drop me a line and tell me about your Mother’s Day.

Read Full Post »